top of page
Search

Chasing kindness?

What does it mean to chase kindness?

For me, it means bringing kindness into my life every day. Whether that means being kind, or recognising acts of kindness in the world around me.


Some days, when the depression has set in hard, it's difficult to be kind - at least, it feels that way, anyway. Those are the days where I focus on the kindness around me. It's easy enough to find if you're willing to open your eyes. Facebook is rife with videos of random acts of kindness, or heart touching videos sure to bring back your faith in humanity.


Kindness is the basis of our relationships, when we truly want a relationship with another person - be it intimate, friendship or otherwise - we are kind, caring and compassionate with them. That doesn't mean always agreeing or never hurting their feelings, but rather when situations arise in which you know there will be tension, you go at it in a way that when the dust settles the other person can see your good intentions.


Kindness can pull even the loneliest of people out of a dark place. A smile, a helping hand, a kind word, holding the door open, paying for a coffee. It proves that while they may not have anyone in their life treating them with kindness, there is hope.


A few weeks ago, when I was in a really bad place, I was in Brandon for the day and decided to stop at Value Village. While waiting at the check out, the lady behind me tapped my shoulder and held out her hand, "here", she said, "I have three of these, you take one", and she shoved a 20% discount coupon in my hand. The interaction didn't magically pull me out of my depression - but it sparked a little bit of light in a dark cave.


What has someone done for you lately that sparked a light? Or have you witnessed someone doing something kind of someone else that sparked your light? Let me know in the comments!

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Coming Together - Natasha's story

The following is a presentation my sister wrote for one of her university classes about he suicide attempt this passed summer. She has been gracious enough to share with the Raven & Dove family.... Be

What's in a life?

So if you've read my book Broken Summer (available on Amazon here: https://www.amazon.ca/Broken-Summer-summer-through-hell/dp/1697433987/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=melanie+elliott&qid=1572893338&sr=8-1) - th

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page