top of page
Search

Letting go...

Letting go can be a difficult step in the healing process of grief, trauma, upset or discord in your life. Letting go isn't forgetting, it is disconnecting yourself from the emotional response to the event.


I can remember my Grandpa and all the times we shared together without reliving the grief I felt the day he passed and the days following. I remember how I felt in those days - but when I think back to it I don't live in the memory, I view it. Viewing it gives me the opportunity to look at what happened with a different perspective, with empathy for my past self as opposed to grief for my current self.


I can remember the sexual transgressions against me without living there and grieving in the moments. Empathy for that girl is always better than being that girl again.


Think about a difficult time in your life. When you go back there, are you reliving it? Are you feeling the feelings and the physical manifestations of the feelings? Stop. Take a breath. Now try to step back from the memory and view it as you would when remembering something from a movie or TV show. This is where you want to be mentally, looking in on the situation, not reliving it first person.


So what is it that you need to let go of? What are you holding on to that you can disconnect from to save yourself?


As always, feel free to sign up so you can comment and create a conversation to help each other through life.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Coming Together - Natasha's story

The following is a presentation my sister wrote for one of her university classes about he suicide attempt this passed summer. She has been gracious enough to share with the Raven & Dove family.... Be

What's in a life?

So if you've read my book Broken Summer (available on Amazon here: https://www.amazon.ca/Broken-Summer-summer-through-hell/dp/1697433987/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=melanie+elliott&qid=1572893338&sr=8-1) - th

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page